verrocchio – History & Principles

verrocchio: collect, enrich and spread innovation knowledge


Innovation is becoming more and more important if you are willing to sustain your market position. Innovation will become inevitable if you are willing to be always one step ahead of competitors. However, innovation and perpetual transformation will only fall into place if people in a company are enhancing their innovation ability constantly. You can learn this. At the verrocchio Institute for innovation competence.

History

The name verrocchio means »vero occhio« in Italian - the »true eye«. This true eye shows the mission of the institute: to enhance the innovation ability of people by harmony of clearness and structure with creativity, inspiration and artistic innovative freedom.

The institute is named after Andrea del Verrocchio (*1435 – t 1488), one of the most influential artists in the transition time from early to High Renaissance. Even more as an artist, he was one of the greatest and most inspiring teachers of renaissance.

For more than two decades, Andrea del Verrocchio was running the probably best art academy and workshop ever and was training talents like e. g. Leonardo da Vinci, Botticelli, Lorenzo di Credi and Perugino.

At first sight, it is stunning that an artist, who achieved his greatest results as a sculptor, had trained some of the greatest artists of renaissance. However, we have to keep in mind that the greatest artists are rarely the best teachers. To spread knowledge and to prepare some creative atmosphere is a completely different talent than the artistic one.

For this reason, the Florence of renaissance was a better model for the training of innovators than Silicon Valley. The principles of verrocchio Institute reflect the principles of that time and use the combination of the latest innovation methods for a radically different understanding of innovation.

In Verrocchio's typical style, the institute's aim is to find, to train and to bring forth the currently so much needed Leonardos, Botticellis and de Credis of our time.


Principles

The verrocchio Institute is operating far from classical one-dimensional teaching approaches: Here, teaching is not only based on theories, but on experienced innovation practice (20 years of experience in 25 countries with 2,000 workshops). The two founders epitomize their tools of "story-telling" out of their experience. At the verrocchio Institute, subjects are presented, developed and processed with visual power. With the help of a huge network consisting of international clients, partners and organizations, new knowledge and experiences are gathered. And anyone, who would like to enhance his or her innovation ability, can get this.

For this reason
  • verocchio offers open and closed workshops and innovation labs
  • issues licenses for innovation coaches and innovation consultants
  • verocchio cooperates with many experts and universities
  • verocchio issues subject-related books and literature
  • verocchio develops own methods and tools in the sphere of innovation consulting

The aim of verrocchio Institute is to train people who will become the reNEWers of their time!  For this reason, all staff members and partners have committed themselves to the following principles:


1. Representing truthfulness - representing scientific character
Very much in the spirit of Verrocchio, truthfulness is always an important target of the institute's work. Not any single new insight, method or trend is to be missed or to be superelevated dogmatically above others. It is also part of the truthfulness to be constantly prepared to scrutinize things deemed to be true.

2. Living clearness - striving for simplicity
We believe that huge clearness as to the things can only emerge if people are able to establish individual conclusions. For this reason, we always want to keep the substantial problem in mind and not losing ourselves in linguistic problems - avoiding ambiguous words and trivial statements - striving for shortness and simplicity - always finding precise examples - always doing our best for comprehensibility with respect to others.

3. Being open - being tolerant
It goes without saying that maximum openness and tolerance towards new things is one of the principles of our work.

4. Being curious - watching in-depth - experiencing in a sensitive way
Curiosity is a desire that comes up as a stimulus to learn new things and, particularly, to discover hidden things. We want to live this curiosity and to enhance and develop it in other people.

5. Acting inspiring - acting imaginatively
We are convinced that we are only able to train people full of ideas if we create inspiration and exemplify inspiration actively. 6. Sharing knowledge - acting in a network - contributing actively Sharing our gathered knowledge (20 years of innovation experience in 25 countries in 2,000 workshops), to cooperate in networks and always contributing actively is a guideline for us and everyone who is cooperating with us.

6. Sharing knowledge - acting in a network - contributing actively
To share our collected knowledge (20 years of experience in 25 countries with 2,000 workshops), to cooperate in a network and to contribute actively is a maxim for us and everyone who is cooperating with us.

7. Scrutinizing - being reflecting
For the sake of maximum gain of insights, we always want to be aware of our perception filters and to ask ourselves constantly why the things are the way they are and if they could not be completely different.

8. Striving for excellence
Only by striving for excellence in the things we do, we can help others to be imaginatively excellent.

9. Having fun
The synchronism of maximum performance and maximum fun is no discrepancy to us but a necessity from which passion will arise finally.

 

 

verrocchio Notes

Are you willing to make yourself familiar with new innovation methods? Are you wondering what the job of an Innovation Coach looks like? Are you willing to be up-to-date as to the subject of innovation?

We will send you hand-picked innovation know-how in the monthly verrocchio Notes. Free of charge and geared to practice. At first hand from Benno van Aerssen and Christian Buchholz, the founders of verrocchio Institute.

Just fill in the form, send it to us and confirm the response e-mail - that's how easy you will become a recipient.

By the way: We don't like spam mails and, certainly, neither do you. For this reason, your data will be safe with us and we will never pass them on to third parties.

verrocchio – Geschichte & Grundsätze

verrocchio: Innovationswissen
sammeln, anreichern und verbreiten


Innovation wird nicht nur immer wichtiger, sie ist mittlerweile ein essentieller Bestandteil unserer gesamten Welt. Innovation ist heute schon unvermeidbar, wenn man dem Wettbewerb immer einen Schritt voraussein möchte. Doch gelingt Innovation und perpetuale Transformation nur dann, wenn die Menschen in einem Unternehmen ihre Innovationsfähigkeit kontinuierlich steigern. Das können Menschen und Organisationen lernen. Das verrocchio Institute for Innovation Competence hat sich der Forschung und Lehre im Bereich Erneuerung, Transformation und Innovation verschrieben.

Geschichte

Der Name verrocchio steht im italienischen für »vero occhio« - das »wahrhaftige Auge«. Dieses wahrhaftige Auge zeigt die Mission des Instituts: Durch die Harmonie von Klarheit und Struktur mit Kreativität, Inspiration und künstlerisch innovativer Freiheit die Innovationsfähigkeit von Menschen steigern.

Das Institut ist nach Andrea del Verrocchio (*1435 – t 1488) benannt, einem der einflussreichsten Künstler in der Übergangszeit von Früh- zu Hochrenaissance. Mehr als noch ein Künstler war er einer der größten und inspirierendsten Lehrer der Renaissance.

Über zwei Jahrzehnte betrieb Andrea del Verrocchio die wohl beste Kunstschule und Werkstätte aller Zeiten und brachte Talente wie Leonardo da Vinci, Botticelli, Lorenzo di Credi und Perugino hervor.

Es ist auf den ersten Blick erstaunlich, dass ein Künstler, der selber seine größten Leistungen als Bildhauer vollbrachte, einige der größten Künstler der Renaissance ausgebildet hat. Doch muss man sich vor Augen führen, dass die größten Künstler selten die besten Lehrer sind. Die Weitergabe von Wissen und das Schaffen einer kreativen Atmosphäre ist ein völlig anderes Talent, als das künstlerische.

Das Florenz der Renaissance war damit ein besseres Modell für die Ausbildung von Innovatoren als das Silicon Valley. Die Grundsätze des verrocchio Institute spiegeln die damaligen Prinzipien wider und nutzen die Kombination mit neuesten Innovationsmethoden für ein radikal anderes Innovationsverständnis.

Ganz im Stile Verrocchios möchte das Institut die aktuell so nötigen Leonardos, Botticellis und de Credis unserer Zeit finden, ausbilden und hervorbringen.


Grundsätze

Das verrocchio Institute agiert fernab klassischer eindimensionaler Lehransätze: Hier wird nicht alleine theorienbasiert geschult, sondern aus der erlebten Innovationspraxis heraus (20 Jahre Innovationserfahrung in 25 Ländern in 2.000 Workshops). Die beiden Gründer leben dabei ihr Handwerkszeug des »Storytelling« aus Erfahrung. Im verrocchio Institute werden Themen mit visueller Kraft vorgestellt, erarbeitet und bearbeitet. Hier werden mit Hilfe eines großen Netzwerks aus internationalen Kunden, Partnern und Organisationen neues Wissen und Erfahrungen gesammelt. Und das kann sich jeder holen, der seine Innovationsfähigkeit steigern möchte.

Dazu
  • bietet verrocchio offene und geschlossene Workshops und Innovationlabs
  • lizenziert verrocchio Innovationcoaches und Innovationsberater
  • kooperiert verrocchio mit vielen Experten und Hochschulen
  • gibt verrocchio Fachbücher und Fachliteratur heraus
  • entwickelt verrocchio eigene Methoden und Tools im Bereich der Innovationsberatung

Das verrocchio Institute möchte Menschen hervorbringen, die zu den ErNEUerern unserer Zeit werden! Dazu haben sich alle Mitarbeiter und Partner zu folgenden Grundsätzen verpflichtet:

1. Wahrhaftigkeit sein - Wissenschaftlichkeit sein
Ganz im Sinne Verrocchios ist die Wahrhaftigkeit ein stets wichtiges Ziel in der Arbeit des Instituts. Keine neue Erkenntnis, keine Methode und kein Trend sollen übersehen werden und auch nicht über andere dogmatisch überhöht werden. Zur Wahrhaftigkeit gehört ebenfalls die permanente Bereitschaft für wahr Gehaltenes zu hinterfragen.

2. Klarheit leben - Einfachheit anstreben
Wir glauben das eine große Klarheit über die Dinge nur entstehen kann wenn die Menschen individuelle Sinnschlüsse herstellen können. Dafür wollen wir stets das Sachproblem im Auge behalten und uns nicht in Sprachproblemen verlieren - mehrdeutige Wörter und gehaltlose Aussagen meiden - Kürze und Einfachheit anstreben - stets konkrete Beispiele finden - uns immer Bemühen um Verständlichkeit dem Anderen gegenüber.

3. Offen sein - Tolerant sein
Es versteht sich von selbst das maximale Offenheit und Toleranz gegenüber Neuem ein Grundsatz unserer Arbeit ist. 

4. Neugierig sein - Detailliert beobachten - Sensibel Wahrnehmen
Neugier ist das als ein Reiz auftretende Verlangen, Neues zu erfahren und insbesondere Verborgenes kennenzulernen. Diese Neugier wollen wir leben und bei anderen Menschen fördern und entwickeln.

5. Inspirierend sein - Ideenreich sein
Wir sind der Überzeugung das wir ideenreiche Menschen nur entwickeln können wenn wir für Inspirationen sorgen und Inspiration aktiv vorleben.

6. Wissen teilen - Vernetzt handeln - Aktiv Beitragen
Unser gesammeltes Wissen (20 Jahre Innovationserfahrung in 25 Ländern in 2.000 Workshops) zu teilen, uns zu vernetzen und stets einen aktiven Beitrag zu leisten ist eine Maxime für uns und alle die mit uns zusammen arbeiten.

7. In Frage stellen - Reflektierend sein
Für maximalen Erkenntnisgewinn wollen wir stets unserer Wahrnehmungsfilter bewusst sein und uns immer fragen warum die Dinge sind wie sie sind und ob sie nicht auch gänzlich anders sein können. 

8. Streben nach Exzellenz
Nur wenn wir in dem was wir tun nach Exzellenz streben können wir auch andere Menschen helfen ideenreich exzellent zu werden. 

9. Spaß haben
Für uns ist die Gleichzeitigkeit von maximaler Performance und maximalem Spaß kein Widerspruch sondern eine Notwendigkeit aus der letztlich Leidenschaft erwächst.

verrocchio Notes

Sie möchten neue Innovationsmethoden kennenlernen? Sie fragen sich wie die Arbeit eines Innovationscoaches aussieht? Sie möchten über das Thema Innovation auf dem Laufenden bleiben?

In den monatlichen Verroccio Notes senden wir Ihnen handverlesenes Innovations Know-How. Kostenfrei und umsetzungsorientiert. Aus erster Hand von Benno van Aerssen und Christian Buchholz, den Gründern des Verrocchio Instituts.

Einfach eintragen, abschicken und Antwortmail bestätigen — schon sind Sie dabei.

Übrigens: Wir mögen keinen Spam und Sie sicher auch nicht. Daher sind ihre Daten bei uns sicher und wir geben sie niemals an Dritte weiter.